Hand Quilting

Here we are in a fast paced, instant, modern world. Crafters and seamstresses from days long gone had none of the modern day tools we use today, even fabric itself was scarce. They were thrifty and would sew out of necessity as well as for love. I find it all rather fascinating really.

It seems that quilting is a new and intense fascination of mine.  (I have a lot of quilting posts coming your way). Even my all time favourite author Jane Austen was a quilter!

 

jane%20austen%20quote

(Image courtesy of here)
Why on earth would I even look at hand quilting you ask? Well truth be told, I looked into it purely because I wanted to give quilting a go but my little tiny Elna was not walking foot compatible. I laybyed myself a new machine that had lots of features but I knew it would take me ages to pay it off. Enter the art of hand quilting.

I began my journey, as I often do, with YouTube. I found a simple block and machine pieced a top together (I lost a few points, but I left them like that. I have learnt to love my imperfections). And I even used polyester (eeep!!!) for the sashing and binding because it was all I had in my stash.

I do not have a hoop (although I am hinting for one for mothers day) and my basting was done by what safety pins I already had in my kit. But still I went ahead and quilted, my stitches were big but fairly even. It is very very far from being a perfect quilt, but I do not care. I loved making this quilt so much. Curling up on my lounge of a night and quilting that sandwich together did good things to my soul. It was just so..peaceful.

024026

 

This Hand Quilted lap quilt now sits on my Mothers lounge to keep her warm on cool nights while she reads or watches TV. She loves it and I loved making it for her.

4 thoughts on “Hand Quilting

Leave a Reply

