It’s all happening here!!

Hello lovelies!

Wow have I had an awesome couple of days. My last post was a little bit sooky. That’s allowed, I’m sure it is. As soon as I had posted it I jumped across to my Bloglovin feed to see what all of you were doing. I love being able to admire the work of others. I jumped on to Valorie’s own sewing blog to see if she had drawn the lucky winner of her January Giveaway. She had- It was me!!!! Selfish sewing here I come! I am so excited to get started on the lovely patterns that will be coming my way. How’s that for timing too? Just the cheering up I needed.
But wait! There’s more! I was scrolling through some local garage sale sites over coffee on the weekend and found a pre-loved Horn Sewing Cabinet going for a steal! Oh happy days! Here is my lovely new cabinet, all open and ready for me to use.

010

My ‘new to me’ Horn Sewing Cabinet. Isn’t she beaut! ❤

Of course as soon as I had her home I needed to put her to use.  I pulled out Newlook 6932 and made my littlest man some summer jarmies for our incredibly hot weather. He is pretty happy with them. He happens to be a big Mickey Mouse fan.

001 007

I have also finished the M6391 I have been working on for the Princess.

016

This pattern called for pre-gathered lace for the layer between the two ruffles. The lace I bought was not long enough (bugger) so I had to alter the length of the second ruffle by about 3/4 inch. The skirt layers would have looked even nicer had I bought a wider pre-gathered lace. But I still think it is a cute skirt. I added a matching lace trim and threaded some pink ribbon through for the top of the ruffles. Looking at it now I am wondering if some trim on the hem of the lower ruffle might look better.

025 015

How cute is the Gingham. I really think Gingham is so under rated. It always looks so sweet.

Now what to make next…

9 thoughts on “It’s all happening here!!

  1. Glad to see that you have landed back on your feet after your roller coaster ride!! Just love the gingham skirt and I agree with you about gingham being so under rated. Where did you get the skirt pattern as I am interested in making it for my granddaughters?

  2. Soooo jealous of the sewing table. You should hear what I have to go through to sew! (I blogged about it once… It was a bit of a tantrum!) 😀 Don’t ya love sewing for kids, smaller clothes and lots of cool fabrics!

  3. Hi Nikki, cute skirt and pjs!! Starting to sew is hard – I was there 2 years ago. Seems you are doing all the right things, mostly it’s trial and error and lots of practice. Thanks for the very sweet comment you left on my blog. I hope you get to give the Plantain top a go – be sure to let me know if you do 🙂

Leave a Reply

